How many steps do you take in a day?

sneakers

The surgeon general recommends you strive for 10,000 steps per day to maintain a healthy fitness level.   This is approximately the equivalent to 30 minutes of activity.  Remember, though, that if you want to lose weight, you would need at least 15,000 steps per day.  

So how do you go about accomplishing this goal?   First you need to determine how many steps you actually do take during the course of a normal day.   Purchase a pedometer or a fitness tracker (I recommend FitBit) and track your number of steps each day for one week.  At the end of the week figure out your average number of steps per day.  Now add 20% more to that total.   For instance, if you average 7,000 steps per day, add 1,400 step to equal 8,400.  You now have your first daily goal!   Once you reach that goal, add another 20%. 

You may be surprised at how little activity you typically get in a day.   A sedentary person only gets in about 1,000 – 3,000 steps.  There are many ways to increase your steps.  Use the stairs instead of the elevator, park further away from stores, or better yet, walk to the store!   During the course of the work day, get up and walk around the building.   Get creative, you’ll be feeling more energetic and looking leaner before you know it.  

25 thoughts on “How many steps do you take in a day?

    1. bodysoulcoaches Post author

      I use a fitbit myself! I really like the Charge HR since it tracks my heart rate during my workouts. And I love how it keeps me on task to keep moving & it’s more accurate than a pedometer!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Sherri Frost

    I know for sure that I need more steps in my day. If I had room, I would get one of those treadmills with the computer desk. It would be handy to hang my laundry on… lol

    Like

    Reply
  2. Natalie Palombi

    I LOVE my FitBit Surge — before that, I had a FitBit One that I used for a couple of years. I don’t get as many steps in now as I did when I was deployed, but I’m slowly increasing it … It was about 15K/day when I was overseas; then when I came home it was about 3K…It’s about 6K/day now! Working back up to get to at least 10K again!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Liz daRosa

    I’ve tried a ‘fancy’ Garmin watch but never used it (luckily it was a gift & I didn’t waste money on it). I’m an avid speedwalker (I road race) but when I train I don’t use any gadgets I focus on time/speed. I have been thinking about the FitBit though…I’ll let you know, if I make the leap!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. bodysoulcoaches Post author

      I’ve never tried speed walking myself, but am interested. Especially as people get older and cannot take the impact of running. How long have you been speed walking?

      Like

      Reply
  4. bodysoulcoaches Post author

    It’s great way to make sure you move throughout the day. Being sedentary is so unhealthy for us and leads to disease & since our society is getting more and more efficient at not moving we need to find ways to counteract that.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Lisa Mason

    I set my Fitbit daily goal to 20,000. It’s awesome to be able to see my progress as I go throughout the day. Makes you think twice about taking the elevator instead of the stairs. I often park farther back in a parking lot or walk instead of drive to get those extra steps in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Kristen Wilson (@k10wilson)

    Great tips and when I worked in Corp America… I could easily get in 15K because I work out at the gym daily and do the typical (take the stairs, park far away at grocery store, I don’t mind walking.. it’s not a big deal) but now that I have my own biz and am slammed, working at home, I just barely get it in… and that’s WITH working out at the gym for about an hour 20 cardio and about 40 in weights. It’s just the way it is… 😦 Oh, and I do have a FitBit… funny thing, when I ride my motorcycle… I somehow “walk” a lot more… I guess it registers the vibration. LOL

    Like

    Reply
  7. Michael Kawula

    I used to have a tracker before it broke and it definitely makes you aware when you are too inactive. Never knew the surgeon general even had a recommendation though.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Beth Niebuhr

    I know just the route that gives me 10,000 steps but the hill I have to climb first holds me back. So I’ve taken to driving a little way and starting on the level for my walks.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Beth Blacker

    I have a pedometer on my phone…some days I am just shocked at how little I’ve moved. When I was in NYC last weekend I think I hit 20,000 steps every day but since being home I probably haven’t totaled 2000! Time to get moving again 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  10. Jackie Harder (@keydynamics)

    Oh, honey, I’m not surprised at all how few steps I take during the day! I’ve celebrated the 10K mark several times recently, which is way cool. What does surprise me is the number of steps I take each day when I’m not walking for exercise — thousands of them! I know I always feel better after I’ve taken my walk. It’s just getting motivated that is my problem!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. bodysoulcoaches Post author

      Maybe keeping in mind how you feel once you’ve completed your walk will help you to get started. As a busy entrepreneur, it can so difficult to get away from your desk. There’s always so much to do! But you’ll probably get more done by taking a few short breaks and walking around for 5 minutes. Give it a try; it can’t hurt!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

