The Importance of Stretching

We all know stretching is important and can feel the ill effects of not stretching in our daily lives.  So why is it that this is the most neglected component of physical fitness?   Maybe because we can’t see flexibility?  Or maybe because we are so focused on losing body fat?   Whatever the reason, we need to bring flexible to the fore front.  Without the ability to move your muscles through a full range of motion, you are more susceptible to injuries,  and balance and coordination are impaired.  If you’re looking to build muscle, you’re muscles will only grow as large as your fascia will allow (sheath of connective tissue covering your muscles).  If your fascia is tight it will hinder muscle growth. One way you can squeeze some stretching into your day, is take a few minutes to stretch while sitting at your desk.  As trainers we see more often than not, clients whose anterior deltoids and pectorals are shortened as well as their hip flexors.  This is due to extended periods of time sitting and leaning forward. Stretching by Bob Anderson is one of my favorite books on stretching.  Below is a quick routine for stretching at your desk.   I highly recommend you add this book to your library! stretchingbanderson Title Image courtesy of Ambro at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

12 thoughts on “The Importance of Stretching

  1. Tobi Awoyemi

    Thank you very much for this reminder Lisa. I use to practice this often in the past but find I forget a lot these days once I get into the Business of the Day 🙂 Thanks again!

    Like

    Reply
  2. hollyjeantampa

    YES I love how you’ve written on this topic. We are NOT meant to sit at our desk chair for 8-10 hours without a nudge. I always am trying to be conscious of my posture and make sure I get up every so often to keep my blood circulating. Pinning this one 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. bodysoulcoaches Post author

      Thanks Holly Jean!! Been at my desk for a couple of hours now myself; time to stretch and go for a walk, which I’m sure would be much more enjoyable if I were in Tampa.. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  3. Beth Blacker

    I stretch every 30 minutes even if just for a minute or two. Sitting at a computer is the worst so I will do whatever it takes to stay flexible. I am also a huge believer in yoga and try to go to classes at least 2 times a week.

    Like

    Reply
  4. bodysoulcoaches Post author

    Hey Kristen, Not crazy at all… LOL I completely understand… I’m guilty of neglecting stretching myself! I’ve actually started stretching at night while watching TV.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

